Slow Writing.

I wrote today.  I’ve been writing every day for the past month or so, actually, which marks a big step on my road from “girl with a BA in writing” to “girl who has actually written something worthwhile.”  On one hand it feels good to finally be making definite, regular progress in the direction of my goals.  On the other hand, I see how quickly my friends crank out creative material and I wonder if I’m doing it wrong.

Because… I’m a slow writer.  I wouldn’t call it writer’s block, because I can be sitting for hours with no distractions and a clear vision of my plot, writing consistently— and still only get a total of 2o0 usable words per hour when all is said and done.  Every November I watch friends document their NaNoWriMo projects, and overwhelmed with awe and despair.  I know better than to even pretend that I could accomplish 50k words strung together in any kind of sensible order in only 30 days.

Yet… I want to write.  I like to write.  I have a story that I want to tell.  It’s just taking me

so.

damn.

long.

The idea for this novel came to me 4 years ago.  Two different drafts were scrapped 70 and 90 pages in, because I realized that I did not yet have the foggiest idea of how to write a book.  I started over, with a detailed outline this time, and now between research and world building and keeping characters consistent and feeling my way around the first person voices of my three narrators… I am slow.

There is always a correlation drawn between speed and intelligence.  One has a “quick wit” or is “slow on the uptake.”  In school, I scored in the highest percentile of everything except for something called “speed and accuracy,” which was literally a test where you did nothing but copy letters into the corresponding bubbles as quickly as you could.

I panicked, and placed in the 10th percentile.

So does anyone else have this problem?  Pathological slowness?  And is there a cure?  Thanking you in advance for your insight.

Leave a Reply

